― xx ―

Principal Works Referred to.

ANSON—“Law and Custom of the Constitution” (1892).

BAKER—“Annotated Constitution of the United States” (1891).

BLACKMORE—“The Law of the Constitution of South Australia” (1894).

BRYCE—“The American Commonwealth” (1888).

BURGESS—“Political Science and Constitutional Law” (1891).

COOLEY—“Constitutional Limitations” (fifth edition, except where sixth is mentioned).

COOLEY—“Principles of Constitutional Law” (1898).

DICEY—“Law of the Constitution” (1897).

HARE—“American Constitutional Law” (1889).

HEARN—“Government of England” (second edition, 1886).

JENKS—“Government of Victoria” (1891).

JENKS—“History of the Australasian Colonies” (1896).

LEFROY—“Legislative Power in Canada.”

LEWIS—“Government of Dependencies” (Clarendon Press edition, 1891).

LOWELL—“Government and Parties in Continental Europe” (1896).

MORRIS—“Memoir of George Higinbotham” (1895).

MUNROE—“Constitution of Canada” (1889).

QUICK and GARRAN—“Annotated Constitution of the Australian Common wealth” (1900)

STORY—“Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States” (second edition, 1851).

THAYER—“Cases on Constitutional Law” (1895).

TODD—“Parliamentary Government in the British Colonies” (second edition, 1894).

OFFICIAL REPORTS of the Debates in the Australasian National Convention (Sydney, 1891), the Australasian Federal Convention (Adelaide and Sydney, 1897, Melbourne, 1898).