no next

  ― 422 ―


THE following appeared in one of the Sydney papers, the ‘Daily Telegraph,’ on June 25, 1892:

The Division of Queensland.—Provisions of the New Bill.—Proposed Establishment of Three Provinces.

BRISBANE, Friday.—The Queensland Separation Bill was read the first time in the Legislative Assembly to-day, and the second reading fixed for July 5. The Bill embraces 220 clauses, and is divided into eight chapters.

Chapter one deals with the Constitution of the united provinces, and provides that within six months after the passing of the Act the colony shall be divided into three provinces, called South, Central, and North Queensland, forming one colony or state under the present Constitution, and shall be called the United Provinces of Queensland. The boundaries of the provinces are practically the same as under Sir Samuel Griffith's separation proposals of last year.

Chapter two provides for a General Assembly, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives, the Queen from time to time to appoint the Governor for the united provinces, his salary to be paid by the General Assembly, and to be not less than 5,000l. per annum. The General Assembly is to meet not later than six months after the date of the constitution of the united provinces, the Senate to be composed of eight members for each province, directly chosen by the Houses of Legislature of the several provinces; senators to be chosen for six years. The General Assembly is to make laws prescribing a uniform manner of choosing senators, who will then be divided by lot into two classes, the first half vacating the Senate at the expiration of three years, and the second portion at the end of the sixth year, so that one-half may be chosen every third year. The qualifications for senators

  ― 423 ―
are that they must be of the full age of thirty years, and must be qualified to vote as electors. The Senate is to elect its President, who may be removed by vote of the Senate.

The House of Representatives is to be composed of members chosen every three years by the people of the several provinces, and, until otherwise provided by law, of the united provinces. Each province is to have one representative for every 10,000 people. Members of the House of Representatives must be twenty-one years of age, and must have been three years resident within the limits of the united provinces. Each member of the Senate and House of Representatives to be paid an annual allowance of 100l.

The General Assembly is to have power to make laws dealing, among other matters, with external affairs relating to the Australian Colonies and Great Britain, the public debt of Queensland and of the united provinces, the regulation of trade and commerce, customs and excise bounties (but so that the duties of customs and excise shall be uniform throughout the united provinces, and that no tax be imposed on any goods exported from one province to another), raising money by any other mode of taxation, borrowing money on the public credit of the united provinces, control of railways, and the constitution of courts of appeal from courts of the provinces. The General Assembly also to have power as to the exclusion of the Legislatures of the provinces, to make laws with respect to the affairs of the people for whom it is necessary to make special laws not applicable to the general community, the government of any territory which may by the surrender of any provinces become the seat of government of the united provinces, and matters relating to departments of the civil service which are vested in the executive government of the united provinces, and such other matters as may be decided upon.

Chapter three provides for the administration of the executive government of the united provinces.

Chapter four provides for the constitution of the provinces. The Governor-General will have power to appoint a Lieutenant-Governor, and the Legislature of the province is to meet

  ― 424 ―
annually. Ministers of the provincial Legislatures shall not exceed six, who draw total salaries as follows:—South Queensland, not exceeding 6,000l. per annum, and Central and Northern Queensland not exceeding 3,000l. each.

In South Queensland there is to be a Legislative Council, of whom not less than four-fifths shall be persons not holding an office of profit under the Crown; the Assembly to consist of forty-six members. The Legislature of the province of Central Queensland is to consist of a Legislative Assembly with twenty members, and in North Queensland the Legislature shall consist of thirty-two members.

Chapter five provides for judicature, chapter six finance and trade, and chapter seven for the admission of new provinces.

no next