49. Federal Convention, 1897.

Labor Platform of New South Wales and Tasmania.

1. The name of the Federation shall be the Australian Commonwealth.

2. The Federal Parliament shall consist of a House of Representatives elected on a population basis of single seat electorates, by adult suffrage, and a Second Chamber elected on the same franchise, each Colony voting as one constituency.

3. Limitation of the power of veto on the part of the Second Chamber.

4. Introduction of a system of non-party Government by the election of Ministers.

5. Direct initiation of legislation by the people, and the Referendum.

6. Payment of members.

7. The future exclusion from residence and citizenship within Federal territory of undesirable aliens.

8. Governor-General, all State Governors, judges and magistrates to be elected.